top of page

Help with Grief

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

Photo by on

Grief is a painful mistress. Unfortunately it’s also something we nearly all have to face at some point. Grief doesn’t even need a death to come to life. Grief is morning a loss, the loss of what is subjective. It’s well known that grief comes in stages. 

  1. Denial and isolation

  2. Anger

  3. Bargaining

  4. Depression

  5. Acceptance

The stages can be a smooth process or one full of repeating and getting stuck. It can take weeks, months or years. But better understanding the process can help in moving through the stages.

This is the most helpful thing I’ve ever been shown when looking at grief and I am hoping it might help one of you as well. I do, however, apologise that my drawing rendition is not great. 

When you are moving through grief you are more sensitive to emotions. Any emotion seems to be more full on and powerful. This is why you emotional bouncy ball is so big! It’s also so much easier to hit than grief button. It’s huge so it’s just moving around in that brain of yours nearly always hitting that grief button.

But with time and support that emotional bouncy ball gets smaller. It returns back to the size your emotional bouncy ball was before grief made it so sensitive and big. The grief button is still there, it always will be, but the ball isn’t going to hit it as often as it did when it was much bigger. I’m not sure if I’ve done this justice but I have done my best. So please let me know if this has been of comfort to you. I always think that knowledge is power when it comes to mental health. Psych-education can give us a better understanding as so why we feel the way we do and in turn help us deal with that emotion. Obviously this isn’t the case every time but hey, every little helps right?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page